Bon Voyage

It’s the Eve of a New Year, and instead of putting on a sparkly dress and drinking some bubbly I am frantically scrambling trying to make sure I can fit everything I need for a year in my 2 suitcases and backpack. No one told me packing your life for 365 days could be so stressful! In reality, I’m sure I have much more than I actually need.

Tomorrow I am moving to Germany. I do no think this reality has sunk in yet. It’s a long awaited dream finally coming true. I have said bye to my parents, my brother and many friends, my bags are packed, bank account closed, iPhone unlocked, Kindle charged. I am ready, and I feel ready.

On Wednesday, the family I will be living with will pick me up at the airport in Munich and I will begin 2013 with a new chapter of my life. I will be the Au Pair to a sweet family with 4 precious kids in a town called Aschau, in the Bavarian Alps of Germany. Just imagine Maria in Sound of Music, minus 3 kids & World War II.

The past month has been a whirlwind. I left San Diego after spending 3 months living with my mom and living the glorious SoCal life, then spent 23 days traveling around New Zealand with some friends, and finally returned to Texas after my longest absence ever (4 months!). The past 2 1/2 weeks I have spent time with everyone dear to me in Austin and Dallas and have eaten Tex-Mex 7 times in 9 days (not ashamed at all). I feel so blessed to have spent so much time with all my loved ones before I embark on this adventure; it has been the perfect way to say goodbye.

So it is New Year’s Eve and for my last night in the States I am at my cousin Margo’s apartment in Dallas. We are starting the night out playing Just Dance 4 on the Wii and drinking Champagne with some friends before we head out for a night on the town to ring in 2013 in style.

Happy New Years to everyone. I pray you all have a healthy and adventurous 2013. Follow my blog to hear updates on life as an Au Pair in Germany and my travels throughout Europe. I am excited to see what God will teach me during this year abroad!

15 responses to “Bon Voyage

  1. Good stuff, Boo. Really going to miss you but am excited for your adventure you are embarking on. Keep me posted. Love you, Dad!

  2. Love this, I am so excited for you. So happy I got to see your pretty face just before you left. My prayers are with you. Bon voyage ma meilleure amie !!

  3. Stumbled across your blog searching for Au Pair blogs. I relate to you .. it’s extremely difficult to fit 365 days of your most loved things in 2 suitcases! I was an AP in the US for 2 years, and I’m in the process of applying for the program in the Netherlands. I look forward to following your journey — it has the potential to be the best experience of your life!
    Best,
    Allie
    http://www.aupairody.wordpress.com

  4. I just stumbled across your blog from ^her blogroll haha. I just moved here three weeks ago, I also live in Bavaria! Your not alone! I have been here almost four weeks, Taylor moves here TOMORROW and Stacie will be here on Tuesday and we are ALL in Bavaria! I can not tell you how excited I am that I happened to find you! This country is an awesomeeee place! PS- don’t forget leggings and a scarf. It’s quite chilly šŸ˜‰

    Good travels, try to sleep.. jetlag is a biaaa. haha

    • I am loving everything about this blog, and I am glad you got there safely. I am very much looking forward to follow all the wonderful things you will experience! Be safe. Love you !!

  5. Hi!! I’m Stacie that Hanley mentioned! So glad to have found your blog! I arrive in Munich Tuesday šŸ˜€ Good luck with your travels and settling in!

  6. Wow! Haven’t been there two days and already making friends, how awesome! Social networks rock on. Hope you guys have a chance to meet up soon.

Leave a Reply

