Hallelujah

This song, originally by Leonard Cohen, has always been one of my favorites. Or maybe not always.. I’d say the defining moment I started loving it was as a senior in high school. A cover by Imogen Heap played in the background of Marissa Cooper’s tragic death scene in The O.C. I’m sure you all remember. If you need a refresher, you can watch it here. There are many great covers of this song, a favorite of mine being by Justin Timberlake and Matt Morris performed live at the Hope For Haiti Now concert. Check it out here.
Knowing I loved the song, my mom forwarded me a link to this cover. This one is a little different because they change the lyrics to tell the story of Jesus. It was so beautiful and moving, I just had to share. After watching it 5 times in a row, I researched the band, Cloverton. They are a Christian Indie band with some great music, you should check them out. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Do you have a favorite version of Hallelujah??

4 responses to “Hallelujah

  1. I usually love cover songs, but Hallelujah is an outlier. I’ve listened to dozens upon dozens of covers of Leonard’s original, and I’ve never heard one that I like. I have uniformly hated *all* of them- *especially* the tepid Jeff Buckley version. But really, all of them. Bleh.

    The only cover I’ve even *sorta* liked is the Lesley Barber version from the movie “When Night Is Falling,” and that’s not a true cover because all of the lyrics are gone except the title. You can hear that one here- http://youtu.be/6HOYOHbRWAw

    By the way, Leonard Cohen is doing four shows this summer here in Germany. This falls into the “incredibly worthwhile to see” category. The man is 78, and I doubt strongly he’ll keep touring for much longer.

    • That Lesley Barber version is very interesting and different- I like it! I agree that Leonard Cohen’s is the best, but I’m a sucker for most versions of this song! That’s awesome he is playing in Germany this year- I’ll have to check out the dates! Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

