Becoming Bavarian

My, oh my, how time is flying! This week was wonderful. We had so much snow here in Aschau and some sunshine, too! I think I’m finally getting the hang of how to dress in this cold weather. (Hint: lots of layers). The first day the sun came out, I walked to the Kindergarten to pick up Niklas and Antonia. It was a beautiful walk, about 15 minutes, with the snow glistening in the sunlight. On the way home, we had fun playing in the snow and being silly. I also learned this week that the snow does not magically disappear from your driveway like it does in the streets, but it must be shoveled. Fortunately, the kids enjoy this job!

Fabian, Toni & her friend Tim shoveling snow

Fabian, Toni & her friend Tim shoveling snow

beautiful walk in Aschau

beautiful walk in Aschau

silly Niklas

silly Niklas

I feel as if I am slowly understanding what life in Bavaria is like. In the past couple weeks, I have:

  1. Consumed a fair amount of Bavarian Beer.
  2. Eaten my first Schnitzel (since I have lived here- not my first ever!)
  3. Cheered on FC Bayern München in their first game of the Bundesliga season. (we won!)
  4. Went sledding (in Deutsch, schlittenfahren) in the mountains near the Austria border.
  5. and I am understanding the Bayrisch accent more and more. I get through whole conversations with Bayrisch people and understand it all!

Ok… so maybe I lied about #5. It’s true that I AM understanding more Bayrisch.. but there is always SOME random word/pronunciation thrown in to a convo where I’m like, “What the heck are you saying???” I know I still have lots to learn, but it’s a start.

If you know me, you know that I love soccer. Not that I can play it AT ALL, but many close friends of mine are soccer players and I’ve always enjoyed watching the games. I never really had one team that I cheered for, though.. but now I do! Fußball is HUGE here in Germany, and in Bavaria, they are fanatics for FC Bayern. I went with some local friends to a bar and watched the game and ate my schnitzel and it was just such a fun day. The next item on my list is to buy a jersey so I can look like a real fan.

cheering on FC Bayern!

cheering on FC Bayern!

Another fun, new development is that I have started playing volleyball on Thursday nights. Micha invited me to join her training group and I went last week and loved it. It’s two hours of exercises, warm ups, drills and playing the game, led by a trainer, Mattias. There were 8 girls there and everyone is at the beginning level (even though I clearly was the worst). But with this cold weather and days cooped up in the house, it just felt so good to be active and sweat!

Today was probably my favorite day yet. A group of 7 of us drove about 20 minutes down near the Austria border to go sledding. I don’t know about you, but when I hear “sledding”, I think flying down a giant hill on a piece of cardboard and running back up a million times. Well, I guess that’s just how we did it in Texas, because here in Germany, this is an actual sport.

Schlittenfahren, as the Deutschers call it, involves renting a wooden sleigh, buying a half-day lift ticket (only 13euro), riding the lift up for about 20 minutes, then going down a very curvy run that to me, resembled one of those green runs in Colorado that is narrow and goes through the trees. To start off, Micha and I tried to do it together and let’s just say, neither of us are very good drivers. We crashed just about every 5 seconds. You have to know how to steer with the reigns and brake and it’s just difficult! After the first run, Allen, Micha and I paired up with a boy each and enjoyed the ride while they did the driving :). However, on the second run, I was riding with Wiggal (it’s a nickname for Ludwig), who is very good at sledding. We were flying down the mountain, me holding on VERY tightly to his waist, when we crashed hard on a curve into the snow. Neither of us were hurt and we were laughing so hard laying there, we were slow to stand up.. too slow. Next thing I knew I saw a girl flying toward me. She flew off her sleigh, the sleigh flew into me and we did some sort of somersault around each other. It hurt, but I couldn’t stop laughing at the same time. After that run, when we got back to the top of the mountain, we stopped into the restaurant and had some Glühwein and took a break. It was such a fun day with so many laughs. I really am so thankful to already feel so close to friends less than 3 weeks into my move here.

Riding the lift up!

Riding the lift up!

Love my sweet friends!

Love my sweet friends!

Sledding with Marco

Sledding with Marco

The beautiful view from the lift

The beautiful view from the lift

On the other hand, Bavaria sure is beating me up! The combination of me not having played volleyball in a long time + the fact that I bruise like a peach= my arms are black and blue with bruises from my first training! Then, add in my sledding crash today that left my legs completely bruised up, and I think it’s safe to say I look beaten up. Oh well, it was all worth it! Thanks for the great week, Bavaria!

6 responses to “Becoming Bavarian

  1. I was SO blown away by the sledding here, I thought it’d just be a small hill that you walk back up once you ride down on your makeshift sled. I could hardly believe it when I was on freaking ski runs, so cool! Seriously obsessed!

  2. This is not my Bavarian experience. I’m quite jealous of your sunshine. Regensburg is in a sort of topgraphical bowl- this time of year we mostly have fog and overcast weather. The only time we see sunlight is if it’s so cold that all the humidity has dropped off. That same bowl keeps some of the harsher cold out, though, so the temperature tends to stay very close to zero. This makes for a milder winter overall, but a less sunny one.

    • That’s too bad about the sunshine. being from Texas I go crazy without a few days of sun! But definitely nice about the weather not getting too unreasonably cold!

Leave a Reply

