Changes

Well friends- this has been one crazy week! A big change occurred for me that was not previously planned- thus the reason for my lack of recent posts. As of Wednesday, I am now living with a new family. Same town, same job- new family/living situation. All personal details and reasons aside, let me say this: being an Au Pair is not just about playing with kids and getting to explore a new country. You are essentially becoming part of a new family that has established routines and ways of doing things (in another culture, I might add) that is going to be very different from anything you are used to. As a 24.5 year old young adult, I have spent the past 6.5 years (half years are always important to note) living away from home, with friends my age, in apartments, sorority houses, rented houses, garage apartments- you name it. All of which come with their own challenges (how many of you have lived in a house with 46 other girls??) Some situations work for some people, and others don’t. As an Au Pair- not all Au Pair families are going to work for you, and on the flip side, not all Au Pairs work out for certain families.

Although my situation was not working out, I was very fortunate to find a family I had previously gotten to know that is living in the same town who needed an Au Pair. The transition was so smooth. I am able to keep my same friends, church, social life, volleyball training and stay in a place that is familiar and I have already adjusted to. Good ol’ Aschau wasn’t quite ready to get rid of me yet!

So… I would like to introduce you to my new family!

Meet Hery. Dad of the family- working at the Orthopedic KinderKlinik in town that treats and works with children with disabilities, mainly Cerebral Palsy. Hery is one of those men who just has the friendliest face- you immediately want to be his best friend!

Meet Biggi. Mom of the fam- she works at the Technical University in München as a professor of sport science. She is currently working on a project studying cardiovascular prevention for children and will graduate with her PhD in a few weeks! Biggi is so kind and warm and will go out of her way to make you feel comfortable.

Meet Kaya. Age 6. He is in the first grade, is a Fußball enthusiast, and plays guitar! Kaya is such a sweet boy.

Meet Timo. Age 2 (almost 3!). He attends the Kindergarten every day and loves playing with toy cars. He is one cute kid.

Two days in and I already feel so comfortable and at ease here in my new home. And an added bonus- my room is huge and so beautiful- with a giant balcony and double doors, castle and mountain view included! My working hours are pretty much the same, except I have a couple early mornings where I help bring Timo to Kindergarten, but then am free until 2 or 3 in the afternoon. I also have some exciting potential opportunities for 2-3 of my weekday mornings- I will share about those in an upcoming post!

Overall I feel total peace about the entire situation. I was never once panicked about what I would do or where I would go and the Lord provided- within 2 days! Although this was an unexpected turn of events for me, it was not a surprise for God. It was all a wonderful reminder about how important it is to TRUST in Him, and believe in how GOOD He is and that He will always provide for us- whether it’s in unexpected ways or not. I am reminded of this sweet verse:

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made know to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.                                       Philippians 4:6-7

Today I feel so thankful. I’m thankful for my God who leads me and loves me unconditionally, and who has brought me to Aschau. I’m thankful for my new family here. I’m thankful for my sweet friendships I have made and continue to make here. And I’m thankful for my wonderful family and friends back home who support me beyond belief. I am so blessed.

balcony/view in my bedroom

balcony/view in my bedroom

8 responses to “Changes

  1. Wow, it’s too bad you have to look at that view every day. God has certainly led you to the right place and blessed you with a wonderful family. Cheers to the next 10.75 months. Love you oooodles!

Leave a Reply

