FOMO

FOMO= Fear Of Missing Out

I’ve suffered from FOMO for a long time now… I mean who likes to miss out on great things your friends or family are doing? Moving across the Atlantic definitely increased my FOMO by about 100%. Don’t get me wrong- I realize that I am also having amazing experiences my friends and family are not having. I’m not at all complaining about living in Germany, just simply stating that with all of the social media outlets these days, it’s much easier to actually see what you’re missing out on and that just makes it harder.

I get the occasional twinge of homesickness here and there. When I hear a song that reminds me of a specific person or place, eating certain foods, conversations… anything can trigger a momentary spell of missing home. However, in my first 2 months in Germany, I have yet to have a break down (I’m sure it’s coming..) and for the most part have been totally fine.

Yesterday, my former roommate and one of my best friends in this world got engaged to an amazing man. After it happened, another friend who was with her called me and gave the phone to Emily. She didn’t know it was me on the phone and as soon as she figured it out we both started crying. We haven’t talked on the phone in over 2 months and hearing her voice and then hearing her say she’s engaged.. that just triggered it.

I was Emily’s roommate when she met Matt and when they started dating, so I sort of got to experience all of the “firsts” with her. She would come home from their dates and tell me all about them. We would sit on our twin beds in the bedroom that we shared and I’d help her formulate words as they texted back and forth. I got to see the first 8 months of their relationship firsthand, and got to know Matt really well in the process.

Both of their families, as well as all of their friends, were there to celebrate with them after Matt proposed. I was on Facebook today looking at pictures and it hit me how sad I was that I wasn’t there. I can picture it pretty well in my head- Emily crying and laughing and being so excited to have all of her loved ones around her, but it’s not the same as being there.

I realized I’m going to have a lot of these moments in the coming months. I already know that I’m missing 3 other weddings that I would love to be at, one that I was asked to be in the bridal party for. Then there’s birthdays, family events, holidays, friend reunions… It’s hard enough to be so far away from your loved ones and these special days just remind us of how much we miss these people.

However, I know I am in the right place. As much as it killed me to miss seeing Emily get engaged, I love my life here in Germany and I know God purposely has me here. Moving to Aschau was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made- but with big leaps come trials, as well. Missing out on things from home is just one of them I have to face!

I couldn’t be happier for Emily and Matt. I can’t wait to see what God has in store for their life together and how He will be glorified through their marriage! Congrats to the future Mr. & Mrs. Price!

The happy couple

The happy couple

Me & Emily at a Texas football game

Me & Emily at a Texas football game

Roomies on our Wilderness hiking trip

Roomies on our Wilderness hiking trip

Love you, Em!

6 responses to “FOMO

  1. Definitely know all about missing those moments and I’ve written about FOMO more than a few times, BUT on the other hand, social media helps so much getting to know just as quickly and seeing the photos. Not easy being so far away sometimes though, completely understand

    • That’s such a good point! I do feel so much closer to everyone because of social media- don’t know how people lived abroad before without it!

  2. I’m prone to FOMO even for small things like going to sleep at a reasonable hour. “I can’t go to sleep yet, something COOL might happen!”

    That being said, this is a hard thing to deal with, and I completely get where you’re coming from. I wrote a post that talks about this a while ago also, about how life in the US keeps going on while we’re over here, and we miss a lot of the things that change for our friends and families. I said then, and I still believe this to be true: “This is the truest and deepest cost of being an expatriate.”

    I also believe that the benefits of living in Europe, for the most part, far outweigh the costs, though. It seems like you do also. Hang in there, Hailey. Homesickness is just a tiny blip on the road you travel.

    (That post I mentioned is http://stevenglassman.de/2012/12/28/ if you’re curious.)

    • I totally related to that post you wrote. I do feel like I’m living in two different worlds and am no longer really sure where home is. But a friend gave me a good piece of advice about moving.. they said to live where you are living as if you’ll live there forever. Whether it’s 3 months or 3 years, you’ll truly become part of your new world and not just an outsider looking in. This has really helped me.

      And I agree- I think the benefits of living in Europe outweigh the costs for sure 🙂

  3. Everyone experiences FOMO from time to time, for many different reasons. You seem to have a pretty good grasp on it though. Being far away from everyone gives me the FOMO all the time, but Facebook has truly made me feel like I’m still close to family and friends. And when the time comes that you look back on this, I feel like your FOMO days will be at the bottom of the list, compared to the day to day adventure you’re having, living in a new places. It wouldn’t be human to feel otherwise. Remember, any of us are only a phonecall, Skype, FB, Instragram, Tweet, plane ride away. 🙂 Cheers to living the FOMO that other people are missing out on.

    • Thanks momma! You’re right.. I know it’s only normal and everyone feels this way from time to time. I love that last line you wrote, “Cheers to living the FOMO that other people are missing out on.” That’s a great way of looking at it!!

Leave a Reply

