Fast Food in Foreign Cities

A couple of weeks ago, I ventured into Salzburg for a quick day trip. What I didn’t mention in my last post about my day, was that my first stop when I stepped out of the train station, was Subway. Yes- America’s beloved sandwich shop, Subway.

Many of you may be thinking- “shut the front door- you’re in one of the most beautiful cities in the world and you’re eating at Subway??” Yes. The answer is a big fat YES. There are two main reasons as to why I did this, and they are the exact same reasons as to why I ate at KFC in Hamburg, drank Starbucks in Munich, and why I occasionally eat McDonalds or Burger King in Rosenheim:

1. It’s a taste of home.Ā Did I regularly eat at Subway, McDonalds or KFC back in Texas? NO. The only fast food I ever ate was Chick-Fil-A (gosh I miss it so), and my favorite sandwich shop was Austin’s local franchise Thundercloud Subs. However, traveling while you are living abroad is MUCH different than just taking a trip abroad and then returning home. The fact is, I live in Bavaria. And not just Bavaria, but a small town in the mountains that has no sort of chains. I eat Bavarian food ALL THE TIME. and I love it! It’s wonderful, truly. I’m going to have to learn how to make schnitzel when I go back to the States. But when I’m traveling and heading to bigger cities, it’s my rare opportunity to get a taste of home. There’s something so comforting about ordering that Turkey+Ham on a Whole Grain Sub and knowing exactly how it will taste.

2. It’s CHEAP.Ā If you’re a budget traveler like myself, you know that eating cheap is a huge money-saver while traveling. There are lots of strategies to do this (that could be another whole blog post). However, sadly but truly, fast food is always a cheap option- and probably one of the main reasons there are so many obese Americans. So when you don’t have a lot of cash to spend on food, it’s way too easy to walk into McDonalds and get a cheeseburger and fries for 2 Euros (plus you get to enjoy some free wifi). Or in my case in Salzburg, a Turkey+Ham sub, chips and a drink for 5 Euros.

It’s important for you to know that when I travel, I make sure to eat the local food, as well. I by no means eat ONLY American food chains when I travel- that would totally be missing out on a huge part of exploring new cultures! I usually make a rule where I will allow myself one fast food indulgence per trip. Often this occurs in the train station when it’s just fast and accessible. I love experiencing a country or cities’ local delicacies, however, when you’re living life as an Expat, you gotta do what ya gotta do for that taste of “familiar” on occasion!

My blogger friend and fellow UT alumni, Alex, recently took a trip to Paris and indulged in some Chipotle (she wrote about it here). I’m heading to Paris for my 2nd time this summer and you better believe I will be chowing down on a burrito when I get there! In the meantime, I’m still enjoying my Schnitzel and Pommes here in Aschau.

Forgot to take a picture of before, but here's the "after" pic of my Subway experience.

Forgot to take a picture of before, but here’s the “after” pic of my Subway experience.

Starbucks- They always spell my name wrong in Germany.

Starbucks- They always spell my name wrong in Germany.

9 responses to “Fast Food in Foreign Cities

    • Unfortunately they didn’t have DP at Subway- but there’s this store here called Real that is basically like a huge walmart, and they have Dr. Pepper so I bought a few this week šŸ™‚

  1. Right there with you.

    I make it a point to not eat American chain fast food while I’m traveling, but there’s McDonalds, Burger King, KFC, and Subway here in Regensburg and I do occasionally partake.

    For one thing, the McD’s is on the way back from the pub, and there’s nothing to soak up beer like a ā‚¬1 cheeseburger.

    For another, the best cookies I have had in all of Europe, without exception,are still Subway chocolate chip cookies. This makes me sad in ways I cannot even begin to describe.

    Sometimes, the American fast food brands surprise me though- there are Dunkin Donuts in Frankfurt and Berlin, and they have flavors I’ve never even imagined in my wildest fever dreams. I had a plum jelly donut at Dunkin in Berlin that was a-maaaaa-zing.

    • yes I know what you mean! They kind of put their German twist on our fast food- like how McDonalds has Currywurst! Ya gotta love it!
      and TOTALLY agree with you on the cookies- Subway’s are the best! You just can’t find chocolate chip cookies anywhere in germany!

      • Ebner bakery here has something not entirely unlike a chocolate chip cookie, but it’s too thick and not quite the right consistency. The flavor is mostly right though.

  2. Not even kidding. Every time I pass a Subway, there’s a drool situation. We’ve been away from American fast food for 6 months and sometimes you just need a McDonald’s hamburger fix!

    • It’s so true! Gotta love the comforts of American food! It’s probably a good thing I don’t have any in my town or I may have found myself eating it too much! Glad you found me, btw- love your blog! I’m a Dallas girl, too!

  3. I always go to McDonalds when I travel just to see the little bits of that countries culture they incorporate in the menu! In Munich they have curry wurst and beer and in Rome they have foccasia sandwiches! I am with Steven on the late night burger run – a horrible habit of mine after a night out!

  4. Actually I don’t like McDonalds while travelling but I do like Applebees, Fridays, Dunkin Donut, Starbucks…. still an endless Fastfood-list – it makes fun šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

