Adios Amigos!

Tomorrow I am heading to Spain!! I just finished packing up my backpack and I have my to-do list typed out on an iPhone note for tomorrow, including my *don’t forget*s. I have 2 new books downloaded onto my Kindle Fire and my car ride outfit is already laid out on the back of my chair. I would say, apart from the crucial overnight charging of my MacBook and iPhone, I am 100% ready to go!

The last time I was in Spain was exactly 2 years ago. It was May of 2011 when my cousin Margo and I backpacked around Europe and hit all of the big cities. We were in Barcelona for 3 glorious days (during which FC Barca won the Champion’s League final) before we had to leave for Rome. Ever since, I have been dying to return and see more, and now I’m finally getting the chance!

My Au Pair family spends the last 2 weeks of May (Pfingsten Break, or Pentecost in English, a Christian holiday) every year in Tarifa, the southern most tip of Spain. This year, I am tagging along for the free transportation (yes, that’s right- we are DRIVING in a car from Bavaria to Spain- pray for me). Saturday, they will drop me off in Valencia where I will start my trip. After a couple of days solo, I’m meeting up with a great friend from my freshman year of college at UT San Antonio. Lillian and I haven’t seen each other in almost 5 years so it will be quite the reunion! I’m staying with her and her family in a house near Valencia for a few days, then we will all drive back to Madrid, where they live, and I’ll stay at her apartment 2 nights. From Madrid, I’ll say bye to Lillian and head down to Sevilla, where I will land in time to watch FC Bayern München kill Dortmund in the Champion’s League final (you better believe I will be wearing my jersey!). After checking out Sevilla for a few days, I’ll meet up with my host family in Tarifa and spend the last stretch of my trip with them. One thing I’m really excited about is taking a day trip by ferry to Morocco! So I will actually be stretching this trip over 2 continents- Europe and Africa!

When it comes to traveling, I am totally a let’s-wing-it kind of traveler. I don’t like having a lot planned, I don’t spend hours doing research, I kind of just go for it. I like having open ended plans and having room to change things if opportunities arise. Don’t get me wrong, I make sure I have enough previous knowledge to know what I need to see, but I enjoy much more taking recommendations from friends who have been there and setting off to discover the cities for myself. This is actually totally opposite of my personality because I try to plan just about every other aspect of my life, so I love getting to open up this other side of Hailey a little more when I travel.

That being said, I know which cities I’ll be in which days (pretty much..) and where I’m sleeping. I’ve gotten some great recommendations on sites, restaurants and night life from friends who have lived/travelled to these cities. But apart from that, I have no plans and I am just excited to enjoy the sunshine of Spain for the next 2 weeks! Can’t wait to tell y’all all about it when I return!

hasta luego!!! (my spanish really is awful…)

A few pics from my last time in Spain:

arriving in Spain

arriving in Spain

Barcelona pier

Barcelona pier

enjoying our day on the beach

enjoying our day on the beach

Parc Guell

Parc Guell

Parc Guell

Parc Guell

Beautiful Barca

Beautiful Barca

8 responses to “Adios Amigos!

  1. Cool. Looks like ur morroco trip goes to tangier. We r thinking about going to tangier island in the chesapeake bay in couple weeks.

    Have fun and be careful! (Especially at the soccer game). Luve you. Dad

    Sent from my iPhone Cell: 804-972-4997

    • Yep tangier! That’s awesome, that will be fun! And no worries, the game is actually in London, I’ll just be watching it from a bar somewhere in Sevilla 🙂 love you!

  2. I am so excited for you Spanish adventures. I hope you find some strawberries for me! 🙂 I have been dreaming of Barca’s beaches for quite some time now… have so much fun!

    • It’s not the same without you here, but Spain is still amazing!! I fell asleep on the beach today and it reminded me of our beach day in barca! miss you!

Leave a Reply

