Sevilla, España

I spent the last 2 weeks of May traveling around Spain, and one of my favorite parts was Sevilla. Sevilla Sevilla Sevilla! I loved Sevilla so this post is a little long, but every part of the city was wonderful! If you don’t feel like reading- at least check out the pics! You can click these links to read my previous posts from my first few stops on the trip: Introduction, Valencia, Dénia and Madrid.

From Madrid, I took a 6.5 hour coach bus ride down to Sevilla. Sevilla is located in the south of Spain, in the Andalucía region. It didn’t take me long to realize that I really really like this part of the country. It’s beautiful, hilly, and even mountainous. It has so much cool history and is exactly what I imagine when I think of Spain.

The bus ride wasn’t so bad and I arrived in Sevilla by late afternoon. My first mission, after finding my hostel, was to find somewhere to watch the Champion’s League Final (pretty much the Superbowl of the European soccer world), and even better, make friends quickly to watch the final with. My team, FC Bayern München, was playing in the final against Dortmund. It was the first time in history that it was an all-German final, and as I had watched every single Bayern game this season, I was so pumped for the game. I wore my jersey the entire day and night.  It’s a good thing I did, because upon checking into my hostel, I met 2 Ecuadorian brothers in my room who are huge soccer fans and upon seeing my jersey, instantly asked me if I was watching the game. Turns out, they already had a place picked out to watch it. One of them actually is studying in Munich, so he was a big fan, too. They also already had the rest of their night planned out so I happily tagged along.

We started the night at an authentic, Sevilla Flamenco show, which was awesome. Flamenco is really cool. There is so much passion involved and you can see it in their faces and body movements. We went straight from the performance to the Irish Pub to watch the game. Bayern won 2-1 (WE ARE CHAMPIONS!!) so I was happy! We went out from there to Triana, the old neighborhood with lots of bars on the other side of the river from the main part of town. One of the boys knew of this bar that does a live performance every night with traditional music and singing. Apparently it’s something very authentic to Sevilla. It was definitely cool.

flamenco!

flamenco!

precious moment with Bastian Schweinsteiger hugging their coach Jupp Heynckes after winning the championship.

precious moment with Bastian Schweinsteiger hugging their coach Jupp Heynckes after winning the championship.

authentic Sevillan performance in a bar

authentic Sevillan performance in a bar

The next day I was simply not in the mood to walk around and sightsee. This happens after you’ve been traveling for a while and sometimes you just need to give yourself a break. However, I also didn’t have that long in Sevilla so I decided to break up the major must-see things and see a couple that day and a couple the next day, giving myself lots of time to go slowly. I sat in a café for a while drinking a coffee and reading my book, then I slowly moseyed on over to Plaza de España. It’s a huge building that looks more like a palace in the shape of a semi-circle with a moat running around it. I took my time examining all of the beautiful tiling and architecture, and then I walked across the street to Maria-Louisa Park, which was also beautiful. I found a great tree, got cozy, and sat and read in the sunshine for a good while. When I finally felt like moving again, I got myself up around mid-afternoon and found a restaurant where I could sit outside and eat some tapas.

Plaza de España

Plaza de España

Plaza de España

Plaza de España

My hostel was super awesome and had all of these activities you could sign up for. One of them was a Paella class, where you learn how to make the traditional Spanish dish of Paella. The class was free, and if you wanted to eat the Paella it was only 5 Euros, and that included free Sangria, so I figured why not. The hostel had a great rooftop terrace, so the class took place up there. We were about 20 people, and it was once again great to meet everyone from all parts of the world. There was a girl there from the Faroe Islands. Do y’all know where that is? I had never heard of them. For those curious, they are a group of 18 small islands North of Scotland, before you get to Iceland. They even have their own language, Faroese. Crazy right? I told her that her mission while traveling should be to educate the world on the Faroe Islands, because I guarantee most people have never heard of them, or if they have, they couldn’t locate them on a map.

So, back to Paella. There are many different types of Paella, the original being with chicken and rabbit meat. They demonstrated a popular type that is a seafood and chicken mix. So you start by cooking the chicken, peppers and onions in a large skillet called a Paella pan (the name of the dish comes from the name of the pan actually). Then you add the seafood and spices, then a cup of rice per person, tomato sauce and then lastly the water and you let it sit for about 40 minutes. During the cooking time, we all drank more Sangria and got to know one another. The Paella was delicious and by the end of the night, I was talked into going on a pub-crawl with some of the people I had met. It turned out to be a really fun night and I had a great time with the new friends I had made.

Paella step 1

Paella step 1

paella step 2 + 3

paella step 2 + 3

paella step 4, then let sit for 40 minutes!

paella step 4, then let sit for 40 minutes!

My last day in Sevilla I had two more things on my list to see: The cathedral and the Palace. My hostel was literally only a block from the cathedral, so I had already seen the outside, but I went inside to take a look and it really was beautiful. This is also were Christopher Columbus is supposedly buried, so I saw his tomb and snapped a photo of that as well. I then walked up to the top of the Giralda tower in the Cathedral and saw a pretty amazing view of Sevilla.

view from the top of the Giraldo

view from the top of the Giralda

The last thing on my list was the palace, the Real Alcazar. It was breathtaking. The palace itself was so exquisite with rooms decorated ceiling to floor in colorful tiles. I walked in and out of every room and then made my way out to the gardens. Holy moly were these gardens beautiful. I could have spent an entire day walking around them, literally.  I took about 5 million pictures. The palace also had lots of cool history and movies have been filmed there. It’s actually the oldest palace in Europe that is still in use. This was definitely my favorite part of Sevilla.

entrance to the palace, Real Alcazar

entrance to the palace, Real Alcazar

Unfortunately, after spending hours at the Alcazar, I had to pick up my backpack at my hostel and trek to the bus station to travel my final leg of the trip.

Sevilla was absolutely amazing. I fell in love with the orange-tree lined streets featuring one tapas bar after another. The sun didn’t stop shining, the purple and pink flowers stood out so brightly, the people were friendly, the sights awesome and the history rich. I would absolutely come back to Sevilla in a heartbeat.

Hostel Recommendation:
Sevilla Inn Backpackers Hostel

Sevilla Photo Dump:

Plaza de España

Plaza de España

Plaza de España

Plaza de España

Plaza de España

Plaza de España

loved these orange tree lined streets with tapas bars!

loved these orange tree lined streets with tapas bars!

Sevilla Catedral

Sevilla Catedral

Real Alcazar

Real Alcazar

Real Alcazar

Real Alcazar

Real Alcazar

Real Alcazar

rooftop terrace at my hostel

rooftop terrace at my hostel

every hostel should have a rooftop terrace like this!

every hostel should have a rooftop terrace like this!

One response to “Sevilla, España

  1. Pingback: Tarifa, Spain & Tangier, Morocco! | One Road Traveler·

Leave a Reply

