Happy Father’s Day, dad!

Although I still have a little more to say about my trip to Spain, I wanted to take a break from that today and dedicate a special post to my dad for Father’s Day. It’s actually not Father’s Day here in Germany (their Mother’s Day and Father’s Day are all in the same weekend, back in May) but nevertheless, it didn’t stop me from thinking about my dad the whole day, instagramming, tweeting and facebooking him, and now writing this post. Sometimes I really don’t know what I would do without social media while living overseas from my family and friends!

Grill master, Dave.

Grill master, Dave.

Dad, you are the absolute best. You are truly one-of-a-kind. I don’t know anyone that can make a bowl of cereal or frozen margarita better than you. You have the answers to everything… and not in a know-it-all kind of way, but in that you literally just know how almost everything in this world works. If I ever wonder about something and ask you, I am always fully prepared for your in depth- probably more than I need to know- explanation. But I am definitely smarter because of this quality of yours! You constantly seek better ways to do things or make things more fun in life. Need some exercise or have yard work to do? You mow the lawn with a push mower, and then swim laps in the pool: yard work- check, exercise: check, cool off in the pool as a reward: check.

rollerblading in Virginia beach

rollerblading in Virginia beach

I love your sense of adventure and your active lifestyle. This is definitely a trait that I get from you, and I love that we share that in common. I don’t think there has been one time we have visited each other where we didn’t go rollerblading, bike riding, hiking, snow skiing, waterskiing or body surfing. I love that we have similar interests in travel, outdoors, the lake, Mexican food, and of course our alma mater, The University of Texas- Hook ‘Em Horns!

hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains

hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains

skiing in the Blue Ridge Mountains

skiing in the Blue Ridge Mountains

dad waterskiing in Lake Austin

dad waterskiing in Lake Austin

I am so thankful for the weekends we spent together in Austin while I was in college. Those are some of my absolute favorite memories with you, from Alpha Phi Dad’s weekend events, to days spent at the lake, eating Tex-Mex, drinking margaritas, and showing each other our favorite spots in Austin, the city we both love so much.

We are both proud University of Texas alumni! Hook 'Em!

We are both proud University of Texas alumni! Hook ‘Em!

Alpha Phi Red Dress Gala

Alpha Phi Red Dress Gala

watching some Longhorn football!

watching some Longhorn football!

a day on Lake Austin

a day on Lake Austin

The older I get, the more I am becoming more like you and I couldn’t be prouder! I know that you would do anything for Chase and I- you have given us much more than we probably deserve! I’m looking forward to many future adventures with you… Machu Pichu- we’re going to make that happen!

Dad, I am so thankful for you and it is a privilege to be your daughter. I love you and I miss you every day. Happy Father’s Day!

Dad and I about 20 years ago!

Dad and I about 20 years ago!

And a special shout out to David, my mom’s fiancé, who so willingly took me in for 3 months when I needed a place to temporarily live. Thank you for loving me like one of your own and thank you for loving my momma! Happy Father’s Day!

IMG_1488

3 responses to “Happy Father’s Day, dad!

  1. Thanks, Boo. Wow, what kind words. All I can say is you are such an amazing, giving human being. I am so lucky to have you as a daughter. Love you so much, Dad.

Leave a Reply

