Celebrating 25.

My favorite weekend of the year is 4th of July weekend. Not only are we celebrating America’s independence by hanging out poolside or lakeside, grilling, and watching fireworks, but the following day is my birthday (the 5th) and some sort of awesome festivities always occur over the weekend. No one has to work, it’s summer and everyone is happy. So you can imagine how I was a little sad to not be in the States for my favorite weekend.

However, as always, Germany didn’t disappoint. Although everyone still had to work on the 4th, I still celebrated myself by wearing red, white, and blue and listening to “Proud to Be An American” on repeat. I made American cupcakes with American flags in them for my German class where 9 countries are represented, me being the only American. I ended the night in a beer garden with 2 good friends and although they aren’t American and could care less, we still toasted to the USA and had a great time.

4th of July celebrations in Germany!

4th of July celebrations in Germany!

My 25th birthday was celebrated the entire weekend long. On Friday, my actual birthday, I opened packages and cards from friends and family in the States and felt so loved from across the ocean! After working, I went to dinner with some great friends at a Spanish restaurant and we had a fantastic night sitting outside drinking Sangria and listening to some live music.

group shot at my birthday dinner!

group shot at my birthday dinner!

ice cream after dinner in Rosenheim

ice cream after dinner in Rosenheim

Both Saturday and Sunday the sun was brilliantly shining and I spent the days by the Chiemsee (the lake) with friends: laying in the sun, playing Volleyball, talking, eating, and enjoying summer. Both days were awesome.

lake days are the best

lake days are the best

lake!

lake!

love my Isa!

love my Isa!

My favorite part of the weekend, though, was Saturday night. My entire group of friends here got together and we made a fire on the Prien River. This adventure started by hiking a trail and then crossing over the knee-high water to get to the best fire making location. It was pretty entertaining with everyone crossing over the river carrying crates of beer, benches, firewood, all the while trying not slip in the currant and fall in. I sadly lost a flip flop during the process but that was luckily our only casualty. The rest of the night consisted of grilling wursts, ribs, corn and bread over the fire, drinking, taking LOTS of pictures and having a fabulous time. NONE of my friends here, out of the Germans, Romanian, Spanish and Colombians represented, had eaten a s’more before, so naturally I had to lead a demonstration in s’more making (in German of course) and after a few beers, it was definitely entertaining. We made due with Leipzig butter cookies instead of Graham Crackers, and some German brand of chocolate instead of Hersheys, and luckily they had marshmallows here so that wasn’t an issue. They still tasted delicious and I was happy to see everyone catch on, hesitant at first, until they realized how great they are. The s’mores were definitely a hit!

marshmallow roasting a success!

marshmallow roasting a success!

An amazing part about the day was that they had predicted, even that morning, that the entire day would be raining/cloudy. But some prayers were answered and the day was gorgeously warm and sunny, and the night was so clear you could see every star in the sky.

Although it was weird and a little sad to not be back in the States celebrating my favorite holiday and birthday with my friends and family, I still had an incredible weekend celebrating here in Germany. I felt so loved by all of my friends here and have never felt more blessed to have met these amazing people!

25 feels great so far. Although I’ve pretty much enjoyed every year of my life, I have to say I think 25 is going to be a really good one. I’m so pumped to see what this year will bring and where it will lead me!

More pics from the river:

we made it across the river!

we made it across the river!

the best spot for the beer!

the best spot for the beer!

Mani crossing the river

Mani crossing the river

almost the whole group!

almost the whole group!

grilling meat!

grilling meat!

mi amigos :)

mi amigos 🙂

DSC_3618

DSC_3630

DSC_3632

DSC_3653

 

6 responses to “Celebrating 25.

  1. Although we all missed you, I don’t see how you could have had a better 25th! Cheers to making the most of it and to the next 75! Love you Hailz! 💞

  2. Hailey, we lost your blog site and I just found it! You look like you are having a wonderful time in Germany and had a great 25th. The kids miss you so much- your name comes up often. We know that this is a wonderful experience for you but can’t wait to see you when you come back to the states. We love you and wish you all the best!
    The Carlisle’s

Leave a Reply

