Trip to Texas pt 1: The Price Wedding

After almost 10 months of living in Germany, I finally got the opportunity in late October to take a trip back to Texas. Emily, one of my best friends from college, was getting married and I was a bridesmaid in her wedding. Emily and I met almost 6 years ago when we were placed on the same Young Life team in college. After years of volunteering together, countless hours spent in the car together, and many trips, we became roommates my last year in Austin. I originally told Emily I wasn’t going to be able to make it to the wedding; it would be too expensive to fly back and I didn’t know how much time I could take off work. Then a cool thing happened: some very dear friends of mine that I volunteered with through Young Life back in college found out that I couldn’t come, pulled their money together and actually bought my roundtrip flight from Munich to Houston and back. Amazing friends, right? You can only imagine how exciting it was to receive that news while skyping with my friend Devin.

Emily and I as leaders at a Young Life camp

Emily and I as leaders at a Young Life camp

Emily and I at Young Life formal

Emily and I at Young Life formal

Emily and I on a 7 day Wilderness trip in Colorado with our high school girls, this was the morning we peaked the mountain

Emily and I on a 7 day Wilderness trip in Colorado with our high school girls, this was the morning we peaked the mountain

So, I was Texas bound for 10 glorious days. My first day in Houston, I got to see my best friend Virginia and her husband. During this year that I’ve been gone, they have bought their first house and now are pregnant so it was so fun to spend time with them and catch up.

The next 3 days consisted of wedding festivities. A few other bridesmaids and I got into San Antonio Thursday night to help Emily with a few last minute projects for the wedding. The 10 or so people from the wedding party that were already in town all went to dinner at Chris Madrid’s, an amazing burger place, and I was in heaven. My first real American burger and Texas beer (Shiner Bock, of course) in 10 months! Yum.

IMG_7149

Friday we had Emily’s wedding shower at lunch, where she gifted all of us with flannel shirts monogrammed with our initials to wear as we all got ready the next day. Thanks, Em! After the shower, we all headed out to her family’s ranch in Boerne, where the wedding would take place, and helped set up, rehearsed the ceremony, and then went to the rehearsal dinner at a country club in Boerne.

monogrammed flannel!

monogrammed flannel!

setting up the 300 chairs for the wedding

setting up the 300 chairs for the wedding

heading to the rehearsal dinner with Crissa!

heading to the rehearsal dinner with Crissa!

the happy couple heading to the rehearsal dinner

the happy couple heading to the rehearsal dinner

Saturday was wedding day! We spent the morning and early afternoon setting up, and then all of us bridesmaids started getting ready together in one of the houses on the property. The ceremony was in the late afternoon, outside under the Live Oak trees and couldn’t have been more perfect: sun shining, no clouds in the sky, upper 60s. Emily looked absolutely stunning and the ceremony represented such a beautiful picture of the Lord bringing two together and making them one.

the girls of the wedding party in our flannels

the girls of the wedding party in our flannels

the beautiful bride and I!

the beautiful bride and I!

IMG_7201

after the ceremony, Emily and her bridesmaids

after the ceremony, Emily and her bridesmaids

The reception was a party: delicious Texas BBQ, live band, and dancing that went on all night.  It was so fun reuniting with friends I haven’t seen all year… it couldn’t have been a more perfect reunion. At the end of the night, we all lit sparklers to send Emily and Matt off, and just before they got into the limo, we were surprised by a firework show to top the night off.

reception tables and stage

reception tables and stage

the cakes!

the cakes!

first dance!

first dance!

with some of the ladies from the Lake Travis Young Life team

with some of the ladies from the Lake Travis Young Life team

Emily and I with our Young Life girls!

Emily and I with our Young Life girls!

sparkler send off!

sparkler send off!

The wedding was such a blast and it was incredibly good for the soul to see so many friends from college and Young Life all in one place. I am mostly thankful that I got to spend such good time with Emily the days leading up to her wedding and then was able to stand at her side (tears streaming down my face, of course) as she vowed to spend the rest of her life with Matt.  It was such a wonderful weekend, and was the perfect way to kick off my time in Texas. The following week was spent in Austin with my family, which I’ll tell y’all about in the next post.

So, thank you, Lake Travis Young Life team for making this trip to Texas happen. Y’all rock.

the Lake Travis Young Life team circa Christmas 2010

the Lake Travis Young Life team circa Christmas 2010

2 responses to “Trip to Texas pt 1: The Price Wedding

Leave a Reply

