Trip to Texas pt 2: Austin

Back in October, I was blessed with a plane ticket, bought by my friends, to come back to Texas and attend my friend Emily’s wedding. If you missed my post about the wedding, you can read it here. My trip was 10 days total, so after the wedding weekend, I still had about 6 days before I flew back to Munich. So all my family, who mostly lives out of state now, flew into Austin to spend time with me while I was there.

The first 2 days were spent with my dad and step mom, Elisa. They flew in from Virginia and we had so much fun stuffing ourselves with all of our favorite Tex-Mex and barbeque meals, walking around Town Lake and climbing Mt. Bonnell. My aunt Leslee also drove down from Dallas to see me and it was great to catch up with her. Unfortunately, their time was short and I went straight from a tearful goodbye to them, to saying hello to my mom and Oma.

frozen margaritas with my dad!

frozen margaritas with my dad!

we topped off some great Tex Mex with sopapillas!
we topped off some great Tex Mex with sopapillas!
with Dad & Elisa at Town Lake

with Dad & Elisa at Town Lake

wouldn't be a trip to Austin without a visit to one of my favorite places- The Oasis on Lake Travis!

wouldn’t be a trip to Austin without a visit to one of my favorite places- The Oasis on Lake Travis!

delicious bbq at County Line

delicious bbq at County Line

bbq tastes even better with a hill country view

bbq tastes even better with a hill country view

dinner with dad, Elisa & Leslee at Chez Zee

dinner with dad, Elisa & Leslee at Chez Zee

sunset at Mt. Bonnell

sunset at Mt. Bonnell

My mom had flown in to Dallas from California, picked up my grandma, and then drove down to Austin. We had a house rented on South Congress for the week and it was really nice to have a place to relax and all hang out. The day after my mom and Oma arrived, my Uncle Gig and cousin Margo drove in from Dallas. They both took “home office” days to come see me and I was so thankful. The next day, my brother flew in from New York and we picked him up at the airport and immediately all went to go eat together before my uncle and cousin had to drive back. It was nice to all be together for a couple hours! My mom, brother and Oma were still in town for a couple more days and we filled our time with lots of eating at all my favorite restaurants, shopping and simply spending time together, catching up, and enjoying the beautiful Texas fall weather (sunny and in the 70s).

with brother, cousin and mom hanging out in a tree at Freddy's Place!

with brother, cousin and mom hanging out in a tree at Freddy’s Place!

love my brother so much!

love my brother so much!

Oma and 3/4 of her grandbabies!

Oma and 3/4 of her grandbabies!

wouldn't be a reunion without a cousin photo shoot!

wouldn’t be a reunion without a cousin photo shoot!

exploring the Austin botanical gardens

exploring the Austin botanical gardens

3 generations! Oma, mom and I in the Austin Botanical gardens

3 generations! Oma, mom and I in the Austin Botanical gardens

drove by my old sorority house! I lived there for 2 years.. great memories.

drove by my old sorority house! I lived there for 2 years.. great memories.

made a trip to my University's Co-Op and took my pic with Bevo, our mascot!

made a trip to my University’s Co-Op and took my pic with Bevo, our mascot!

I got my nails done, my hair cut, shopped, ate at Chick-Fil-A (my all time favorite fast food that I have missed like crazy). In 8 days, I ate Tex-Mex 6 times, and barbeque 3 times, had a ton of Dr. Peppers and frozen Margaritas and way more chips and salsa then I needed. Being in my favorite city in the world (Austin) with my favorite people in the world (my family) was exactly what I needed after being away for 10 months.

my version of heaven: Chick-Fil-A.

my version of heaven: Chick-Fil-A.

Chick-Fil-A: it's just perfect

Chick-Fil-A: it’s just perfect

frozen margaritas and chips & salsa at Matt's El Rancho! yum.

frozen margaritas and chips & salsa at Matt’s El Rancho! yum.

One thing that I really loved noticing while I was in Texas was that nothing felt different. Being back didn’t feel weird at all… it just felt right. It made me realize that even though sometimes I feel homeless since my immediate family has all left Dallas and I have moved to Germany, Texas will always be home.  I am so thankful for the time I got to spend there, being at Emily’s wedding, reuniting with college friends, spending a relaxing week with family, and of course, eating my favorite foods. It was a wonderful trip, but even after all that… I was ready to come back to Germany. It was a good feeling to realize that I am happy where I currently am and I’m confident that this is where the Lord has me, for now at least.

some famous Austin mural art

some famous Austin mural art

And a special birthday shout out to my daddy! Happy Birthday, dad! Wish I could celebrate you, but so thankful for the time we got together last month! Love you!

One response to “Trip to Texas pt 2: Austin

Leave a Reply

