a new home

Well, I officially live in Munich now! It’s been a whirlwind of a week, having partially moved in this past weekend, while working all day Saturday and Sunday at a school fair for my school, and having David in town and spending time with him. In the middle of all that, I’ve had a bad cough for the past month that has increasingly gotten worse, to the point that I pulled/strained a muscle in my back. I finally caved and went to the doctor (after David, his mom, and finally my boss all told me I need to… I can be really stubborn sometimes). After a blood test, breathing test, x-ray of my lungs at the Radiologist, and follow up appointment the next day, he determined I don’t have pneumonia or a serious infection, but still gave me an antibiotic, painkiller for my back, and inhaler for my cough, and scheduled a second follow up appointment for 2 weeks from now to make sure everything is going okay. I felt thoroughly taken care of.  In addition to all that, the doctor wrote me a sick note and said I shouldn’t work the rest of the week, and that I just need to rest. So here I am, my first week in the city, getting really cozy in my new apartment.

Despite a few days of excruciating back pain and being a little sick, I still love being in they city. I love that it took me a total of 10 minutes to get to my doctor’s office (door to door, taking a tram in between). I love that within 1 block of my apartment there’s a pharmacy, butcher, bakery, post office, fruit & vegetable market, several restaurants, and only a couple blocks further is the larger grocery store. I love that only two blocks away is the Isar River with a park running along side it. I love the old skeleton keys to my apartment building, and I love that my building is over 100 years old, which means that there is a lot of work that could be done to it, but also means it has a lot of character. And I’ve loved setting up my room and making it warm and cozy. Even though I’m just subletting this room and I’ll only be in this apartment 7 months, this is still my first home in Munich and I am loving it so far.

Now I can’t wait to get better and actually get out into the city (as in, further than my doctor’s office) and check out all of the restaurants/cafes I have favorited on my new Spotted By Locals iPhone app!

… and I promise I’ll put up some pics of my room as soon as I finish setting it up!

IMG_8164^standing on the bridge over the Isar by my apartment

IMG_8221^the skeleton keys to my building and apartment… i mean, so cool, right?

6 responses to “a new home

  1. Congrats on the move! Munich is a such a cool city, I’ve only visited a few times but feel like I need to spend some more time there to really get a feel for it. Hope you feel better soon!

  2. Hey! I am coming to Cologne to au pair starting in May (from Nebraska) 🙂 Found your blog… I love it! Any advice on teaching in another country?? I’m looking to do that after my au pair year is up! Thanks!

    • Hi there! Glad you found my blog! Are you a certified teacher/do you have a bachelor or masters in education? If so, finding a teaching position will be easy! If not, there are many bilingual preschools and some private schools that take English speakers without degrees! Let me know if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

