I’m still here!

It’s currently fall break here in Bavaria, which means I’m off work this week! As I was sitting at my computer catching up on emails and drinking some hot tea (it’s all the sudden winter here again in Germany), I remembered how it was always on slow mornings like this when I was an Au Pair that I enjoyed updating my blog. As I’ve had a 5-month hiatus from the blogging world, I decided today would be a good day for a recap post. So what has life been like the last 5 months? Here’s are the highlights:

The World Cup happened. and Germany won it!

Each game either Germany or the USA played in was an excuse to have a game-watching party and hang out with friends. Sometimes it was at someone’s apartment, sometimes it was reserved tables at an outdoor bar with my church, but it was ALWAYS fun. Especially when Germany won the whole thing. It was one of the coolest nights of my life. We joined in the party in the streets with 200,000 others on Leopoldstrasse in Munich, fireworks going off left and right until 3 AM. I will never forget that night!

IMG_9665 IMG_9701 IMG_9990 IMG_0016 worldcup

I turned 26 and celebrated both my birthday and the 4th of July on the Mediterranean island of Sardinia, off the coast of Italy, with a group of girlfriends!

8 girls. 1 apartment by the beach. The beautiful Mediterranean. It was an epic. We made American flag shirts to celebrate the 4th, visited beautiful Bombarde Beach for my birthday and had some fantastic Italian dinners and Gelato. It was such a fun weekend and an unforgettable birthday!

DSC_4322 IMG_9863 IMG_9818 IMG_0011 IMG_9953 IMG_9833 IMG_9871

I took a weekend trip with Rebecca and Jenny to Budapest!

We took the night train from Munich to Budapest (miserable), arrived in the city realizing we had practically no money (long story, but none of us had been paid yet) but had one of the most fantastic weekends. Thankfully Budapest is a CHEAP city and you can survive on 20 Euros for a weekend (a beer was like .50 cents). We fell in love with the beauty of the city and loved exploring it and spending an afternoon in one of the most famous Hungarian thermal bath houses, Szechenyi. It was an experience! We loved Budapest.

DSC_4391 DSC_4418 DSC_4420 IMG_0177 IMG_0200

I went back to the US for 3 weeks!

I spent a glorious, sunny week in San Diego with my mom filled with days at the beach, driving the boat on the San Diego Bay, shopping and doing things we love to do together. I then spent another week and a half in Dallas and spent time with my dad, Elisa, brother and all of my extended family, plus got to see all of my friends and meet my best friend Virginia’s baby Campbell for the first time! It was such a wonderful trip home filled with people I love.. and lots of Tex-Mex and BBQ!

IMG_0418 IMG_0445 IMG_0469 IMG_0525 IMG_0507 IMG_0527 IMG_0532 IMG_0390 IMG_0647 IMG_0685 IMG_0700

I moved into a new apartment in Munich!

After a crazy, hectic apartment search (Munich is VERY difficult city to find housing in), my friend and co-worker Cate and I found a beautiful, newly renovated apartment in a cool location near several of our friends and moved in! We love it! We hosted a house-warming party a couple weeks ago, with a “Chili and Flannel” theme so I could introduce all my German friends to Texas chili. They loved it and we had a fun night with lots of great friends in our flat.

IMG_0974 Photo 27.09.14 17 08 21 DSC_4491 DSC_4503 DSC_4499

Oktoberfest happened… and we conquered it!

5 Oktoberfest visits during the 16 days it was running. 3 times just with friends, 1 time with reserved tables from work and everything paid for, and 1 time with reserved tables from church (140 of us total!) for the final night, which ended with sparklers and lots of singing and hugging and dancing on tables. I think we all went into a slight post-Oktoberfest depression the following week, but we quickly recovered because life must go on!

IMG_0902 IMG_0905 IMG_0938 IMG_1049 IMG_1054 IMG_1080

I love my church!

I’ve gotten pretty plugged in to my church ICF- International Christian Fellowship, and absolutely love it! I’m serving on the Welcome Team and on the Translations team, helping with text translations for the website, powerpoint slideshows, song lyrics, info for workshops, etc. I’ve made so many friends there and am so thankful to have a wonderful church community. We have a women’s conference coming up in a couple weekends which I’m really excited about!

IMG_9907

Oh yeah, and I also work!

I started working full time in September at the bilingual primary school, Jules Verne Campus. I’m co-teaching 1st grade and loving it! I have 24 kids in my class, and about half of them speak English (either as a 1st, 2nd or 3rd language) and about half of them started school with no previous English knowledge! So I’m teaching 2 different levels of English each week, a science lesson/experiment each week, sports and assisting my co-teacher while she teaches the other subjects. I love my little international babies and am loving seeing their progress in English in just the first 6 weeks!

IMG_0858 IMG_0997

AND MY COUSIN MARGO IS COMING TO VISIT ME TOMORROW!

She arrives tomorrow morning and then we are heading to Prague Wednesday for a few days. I’m so excited to have her here and show her my life in Munich!

IMG_2986 IMG_0617

So yeah, life in Munich lately has been wonderful, crazy, tiring, hard, fun, exciting, overwhelming and adventurous all at the same time, but it’s my life: my job, my apartment, my friends, my church, my city… and I can’t imagine being anywhere else right now!

IMG_9059 IMG_1162

3 responses to “I’m still here!

Leave a Reply

